[Home]     [Race Results]



Larry MacMillan – P.R.

September 6, 2009

Neumann Takes 4th Citrus Late Model Win in 50 Lap 21 Car Shoot Out

(Inverness, FL. 9/5/09) Other than a brief rain delay into the second feature of the night it was a perfect night for racing at Citrus County Speedway Saturday night and the fans got some of the best racing of the year from 5 local divisions and the visiting American Mini Cup Racing series. A total of 91 cars took on the 3/8ths mile oval.

Twenty one Late Models went on the clocks for qualifying runs and Wayne Anderson set fast time close to record time at 13.572 seconds with Jeff Schofield, Dave Pletcher, Scott Grossenbacher, Doyle Boatwright and Herb Neumann not too many ticks off. On the pill draw Kyle Maynard won the pole and Neumann started outside pole. When the green flag dropped things jammed up in the first few laps with a couple of caution flags slowing the first 10 laps on what was a green track from an earlier rain shower. On the restart Maynard took the point with Neumann in pursuit and the race went non stop for the next 40 laps with the entire field vying to move through the heavy traffic. Neumann made the pass for the lead and managed to get through slower traffic in a wild shoot out with Wayne Anderson who started 6th for the final 15 laps. Both drivers had to work the whole track with loose conditions for the entire race and it was a well earned 4th win of the season for point leader Herb Neumann. Anderson gave it all he had and just couldn’t make the pass settling for second with Scott Grossenbacher closing on him in the final laps for third. Rounding out he top five were Raymond Lovelady and Doyle Boatwright.

Week 20 of the Mini Stock season saw 13 cars make the scene and it was Travis Hoofer’s night to put on a show. Pulling up second in his heat behind point leader Clint Foley showed he had the power to get the job done. Starting 5th in the line up when the green flag flew in their 20 lap feature he wasted no time putting that horsepower to use and took the point early leaving the rest of the field behind. Clint Foley started in the rear as usual and made his way through the field on the outside groove and it looked like it was going be another win for him but despite a mid race caution he just couldn’t make it through all the slower traffic and had to settle for second. Chris Harvey managed to hang onto his third starting spot for a third place finish ahead of Steven Smith and James Ellis. Steven Griffin driving Chris Hooker’s car took the win in the second heat.

Jay Witfoth and Richie Smith are in a battle to see who can win the most Street Stock features and after Saturday night’s win by Witfoth they are even up at 5 apiece. Jay managed to take both his heat and the 20 lap feature win over the 16 car field. Starting 15th, Richie made it through all that traffic and took a final two lap run at him when the checkered flag flew and settled for a 2nd place finish. Jay is currently running second in the point’s race for the year behind Dr. Mark Fallows. Bubba Martone stayed in the hunt throughout the race and moved from 8th to 3rd at the finish line ahead of Mike Loudy and early leader Jim Hand. Loudy took the win in the 2nd heat.

Pure Stocks went into their 22nd week of the season with Tommy Smith being the man to beat as he went on to log his 13th feature and 11th heat win of the season. The man definitely knows how to put a winning race car together and devotes every spare moment to that end. He started 14th after finishing 3rd last time out and took what was left of the 18 car field in a breeze. Wes Filyaw seemed to be the only car that had anything for him but it wasn’t enough this week after taking the win last week and he had to settle for second. Richard Dinkins took the win in first heat and stayed in the hunt to the finish line for a third place finish followed by Bill Ryan who had to make his way from the rear of the pack on 3 occasions due to a couple of incidents on the track. Rounding out he top 5 was 7th starter Rick Shahid.

In the V8 Thunder Rookie division it was a 7 car battle that Scott Werstein made short work of for his 3rd win of the season. One more and he moves up to Pure Stocks and becomes a pro. Jason Ayers was looking for his 4th and final win and looked like he may pull it off but lost it in turn 4 in a 360 degree spin but still salvaged 2nd. Chris Ickes, Tara Wilder and Cassie Selvage finished out the top five.

Eighteen American Mini Cup Cars came to race and an interesting note was that 2nd fast qualifier in late Models, Jeff Scofield decided to play with them. He took the win in the second heat and the way he ran it looked like he never lifted his foot off the throttle for the entire 8 laps. Cindarae Irish took the win in the first heat and turned out to be a major competitor in the feature giving back all the guys had for her. She and Scofield were caught up in a mid race 5 car wreck on turn four that narrowed the field and took Scofield out of the races for the night. The rest of the field went on to finish the race with James Irish taking the win over Rodney Haddock, Brandon Beech, Blake Haddock and Tony Martin.

The action returns to Citrus County Speedway next Saturday night featuring the Open Wheel Modifieds, Sportsman, Mini Stocks, Pure Stocks, V8 Thunder Stocks, 4 Cylinder Stocks and the wild and crazy Figure 8’s.


Citrus County Speedway Results 9/5/09

Super Late Model Feature – 50 Laps – 21 Cars

1. #98 Herb Neumann Jr. – Inverness – 4th Season Win

2. #84 Wayne Anderson – Wildwood

3. #09 Scott Grossenbacher – San Antonio

4. #7 Raymond Lovelady – Lakeland

5. #127 Kyle Maynard - ?

Fast Qualifier - #98 Wayne Anderson – 13.572 Secs.

Mini Stock Feature – 20 Laps – 13 Cars

1. #20 Travis Hoefler – Floral City – 2nd Season Win

2. # 7 Clint Foley – Dunnellon

3. #51 Christopher Harvey – Belleview

4. #32 Stephen Smith – Inverness

5. #98 James Ellis – Brooksville

1st Heat Winner - #7 Clint Foley

2nd Heat Winner - #6 Steve Griffin – Inverness

Street Stock Feature – 20 Laps – 16 Cars

1. #4 Jay Witfoth – Beverly Hills – 5th Season Win

2. #42 Richie Smith – Hernando

3. #98 Tom Bubba Martone – Floral City

4. #21 Mike Loudy – Brooksville

5. #05 Jim Hand – Brooksville

1st Heat Winner - #4 Jay Witfoth

2nd Heat Winner - #21 Mike Loudy

Pure Stock Feature – 20 Laps – 18 Cars

1. #24 Tommy Smith – Hernando – 13th Season Win

2. #39 Wes Filyaw – Brooksville

3. #69 Richard Dinkins - Bushnell

4. #33 Bill Ryan – Bushnell

5. #88 Victor Shahid – Floral City

1st Heat Winner - #69 Richard Dinkins

2nd Heat Winner - #24 Tommy Smith

V8 Thunder Stock Feature – 20 Laps – 7 Cars

1. #45 Scott Werstein – Belleview – 3rd Season Win

2. #39 Jason Ayers – Inverness

3. #20 Chris Ickes – Brooksville

4. #41 Tara Wilder – Inverness

5. #37 Cassie Selvage – Floral City

American Mini Cup Feature – 20 Laps – 18 Cars

1. #14 James Irish

2. #31 Rodney Haddock

3. #47 Brandon Beech

4. #23 Blake Haddock

5. #44 Tony Martin



[Return to top of page]