[Home]     [Race Results]

4CB Action
Richard Kuhn #47 goes up on two wheels after riding over #71 Sonya Heater
in the Citrus County Speedway 4 Cylinder Bomber Feature.

Larry MacMillan – P.R.
May 17, 2009

Rain Abbreviates Citrus Speedway Race Night

(Inverness, Fl. 5/16/09) Warm sunshine and partly cloudy skies greeted race fans and 100 race car drivers for the Saturday night action at Citrus County Speedway Saturday night. Three point races, 2 non point races and 2 traveling series were on the race card and the heat races went on without any major problems. It looked like it was going to be a smooth night but the sea breeze connection formed right over the speedway at the final 8 laps of the second feature on the schedule bringing on the caution flag. Then the rains came accompanied by a great deal of lightning and all attempts to wait out the weather made it too dangerous for the fans in the grandstands and the racers to race on a slick track so any further features were postponed until a later date.

Only one local division got their heats and feature race in and that was the 4 Cylinder Bombers. Sonya Heater sat on the pole for the first 8 car heat and she managed to hold off the hot shoes like Tim Scalise and Phil Edwards for the entire 8 laps for her first heat win of the season. Scalise picked up a second place finish over Edwards in their side by side finish. Point leader Tony LaPoint celebrated his birthday coming from 6th to Victory Lane in the second heat followed by Tom Posavec, driving for John DeGeorge in a much lighter racer than his Sportsman car. Sixteen cars took the green flag for their feature race and outside pole sitter Tim Scalise had his way with the entire field checking out early and maintained a good lead on the field taking a flag to flag win despite several caution flags. Runner up Richard Kuhn came from the back end of the field twice after getting up on two wheels and riding over Sonya Heater’s driver window in an early crash and looking like he was a member of the Joey Chitwood show. He and she survived the crash but he was sent to the rear and promptly rocketed forward to finish in a close second while trying to make it two wins in a row and being denied his third win of the season. Rounding out the top five were point leader Andy LaPoint, Tom Posavec and Bryson Ward.

The only other feature race to run was the nine car Bass Champions Challenge Series. Brandon Williamson from Powder Springs, Georgia showed he definitely wanted to make the trip worth while. He blitzed the field in their 8 lap heat race and lined up at the back of the pack for the start of their 35 lap feature. Mervin Glick set the early pace while the faster cars worked their way through the traffic towards the front not realizing that they wouldn’t have all 35 laps to make it to Victory Lane. They raced in heavy rain for 2 laps to lap 26 when the caution came out for the weather and Bass Champions management called it a completed race at that point with Brandon Williamson taking the win followed by Florida Short Track Report.com Rookie of the year, 12 year old Daniel Miller who came from 7th to 2nd and was going after the leader when the caution came out. Eighth starter Rowdy Gordon locked down third over Jerry Heflin and Sene Capps.

Pure Stocks got in three heats with 20 cars registered and only a few getting in on the bounty that has been put on beating Tommy Smith after he logged 5 feature wins. Tommy’s brother Richie took the win in the first heat over Bill Ryan and Glen Colyer. Heat number two went to Tommy Smith for his 6th heat win of the year followed by early leader Alex Wilder and Drew Matissek. John Drye came from his 6th starting spot to win the third heat over Patric Connor who led for 7 laps of the 8 lap run. Richard Dinkins who was celebrating his 17th anniversary with his wife Danielle, had the lead when the white flag came out and apparently thought it was the checkered flag losing two spots before he realized what he had done took a solid third place finish.

Open Wheel Modifieds put on a great show in their 8 lap heat race with 9 cars taking the green flag. Pole sitter John Carter Jr. took the early lead only to give it up to a very quick Richie Smith. Something apparently went sour in Smiths racer as he pulled up and went to the outside groove at the halfway point and gave the lead back to Carter who took the win followed by Curtis Neumann with Richie holding out for third. Rounding out the top 5 were Billy Bechtelheimer and Jay Coleman. Their feature race was rained out.

The visiting American Mini Cup cars got two heat races in with local driver Rick Shahid winning his first ever Mini Cup race over Mike Holt and Jeff Sweet with 8 cars in the first heat. It was all Brady Marshall in the second heat being chased by Jacob Calloway and Carlos Pinto in that 8 car, 8 lap heat race.

Street Stocks were one car short of the 14 car minimum field to run heat races and of course their 25 lap feature was rained out. This race will be rescheduled as a makeup race when the schedule allows.

In accordance with all race track policy, the Saturday races got past the intermission with two feature races run and fan rain checks will NOT BE HONORED for any future races.

Next Saturday will see The Central Florida Sprint Cars teamed up with the local Sportsman, Mini Stock, Street Stock and 4 Cylinder Bomber divisions. Practice will be on Friday night from 5 until 8 p.m.










Citrus County Speedway Results 5/16/09

4 Cylinder Bomber Feature – 20 Laps - 16 Cars

1. #48 Tim Scalise – Lutz – 1st Feature Win

2. #47 Richard Kuhn – Ocala

3. #88 Anthony LaPoint – Zephyrhills

4. #122 Tom Posavec – Dunnellon

5. # 4 Bryson Ward – Crystal River

1st Heat Winner - #71 Sonya Heater – Homosassa

2nd Heat Winner - #88 Anthony LaPoint

Bass Challenge Series – 35 Laps (26 Run) – 9 Cars

1. #20 Brandon Williamson – Powder Spring, Ga.

2. #00 Daniel Miller – Tavares

3. #24 Rowdy Gordon – Salt Springs

4. #23 Jerry Heflin – Ocala

5. #40 Sene Capps – Salt Springs

Heat Winner - #20 Brandon Williamson

Open Wheel Modified Feature – Rained Out

Heat Race – 8 Laps – 9 Cars

1. #121 John Carter Jr. – Belleview – 1st Heat Win

2. #01 Curtis Neumann – Inverness

3. #42 Richie Smith – Hernando

4. #6 Bill Bechtelheimer – Dover

5. #12 Jay Coleman – Holiday

Pure Stock Feature Rained Out

1st Heat Winner - #142 Richie Smith – Hernando

2nd Heat Winner - #24 Tommy Smith – Hernando

3rd Heat Winner - #39 John Drye – Inverness

Street Stock Feature Rained Out

No Heats Run

V8 Thunder Car Feature Rained Out

Do not run heat races

American Mini Cup Feature Rained Out

1st Heat Winner – #8 Rick Shahid – Floral City

2nd Heat Winner - #20 Brady Marshall - ?


[Return to top of page]