[Home]     [Race Results]


Larry MacMillan – P.R.
May 21, 2007

Zavrel Takes First Late Model Win at Citrus

(Inverness, Fl. 5/19/07) Great weather, 110 race cars and lots of action heated up the asphalt at Citrus County Speedway Saturday night. Seven divisions locked onto the 3/8th mile oval for another exciting night.

Fifteen Late Models watched the rear deck of first time winner Keith Zavrel for the entire 35 laps while Scott Grossenbacher fought off Herb Neumann Jr., in a last lap side by side run for second. Daniel Webster came back from an early trip to the pits to finish fourth ahead of Mike Bell, Perry Lovelady, Dale Sanders, Danny Johnson, Jim Smith and Jason Rendell to round out the top ten. Heat winners were Jim Smith and Mike Bell

Richie Smith managed to come from the back end of the 22 car pack to take his 7th season Street Stock win. He is without a doubt the man to beat in the division and continues to make believers out of the 58 drivers in the race for the championship. Curtis Flanagan chased Smith to the flag for a second place finish and trails him by 9 points in the run for the division Championship. Artie Hewitt continues to run well and logged another 3rd place finish over Tim Wilson and Tim Alexander locked onto fifth. Heat winners were Jay Witfoth, Tim Alexander and Jason Van Ochten.

Twelve Sportsman racers returned to race for points after their 50 lap non points race last week and Mike Veltman logged his third win of the season and third heat win. Fred Tuski outran Phillip Rook for third spot while D.J. Macklin outran Clint Foley for fourth. Winner of the second heat was Richie Smith who was playing double duty for the night but finished 11th in the feature.

The Four Cylinder Bomber division drew a 21 car field for their 20 lap main event with Jon Doucette picking up his second win of the season outrunning point leader Travis Hoefler to the checkers. Anthony LaPoint picked up a third place finish over Chris Harvey and Phil Edwards. Heat wins went to LaPoint, John DeGeorge and Jeremy Sharrone.

Pure Stock point leader Ricky Henick was top shoe for the second time this season. Bill Ryan again came from the back end of the 15 car field to run a solid second over Mike Dubbs who is still looking for his first season win. Louie Cioe held off defending champion Steve Stinedurf in the race for fourth. Heat winners were Bill Ryan and Glen Colyer.

John Drye made it four wins in a row in the V8 Thunder Stock 20 lap feature and knocked himself right out of the division after being so dominant in week ten of their season. He will move up to Pure Stock from the Rookie division next week. Chad Markland who has two wins scored a second place win over Jeff Eisenhower, Eddie Rosasco and Charles Franklin to round out the top five.

Only 11 Mini Stocks showed for the 50 lap special and the race was cut to 30 laps due to the low car count. Brandon McSwain made his debut at Citrus and took the big win with Rick Sirmans, Mark Powers and George Neumann in a four way run for the checkers and finishing in that order. Ron Armillei outran Don Faunce in the race for fifth with Travis Hoefler taking seventh, Mike Birk Jr. running 8th, Jonathan Camp 9th and Jesse Henley taking tenth.

Next Saturday night will be a blast as Doug Rose brings the Green Mamba Jet car to literally blow away a SUV in the most spectacular fireworks display when he hits the afterburner of his jet dragster. He’ll be on the grandstand side to meet the fans. Add 8 divisions to include the Open Wheel Modifieds, Figure 8’s, Sportsmen, Mini Stocks, Street Stocks, Pure Stocks, 4 Cylinder Bombers and V8 Thunder Stock rookies and the night should certainly rock.


Citrus County Speedway Results 5/19/07

Late Model Feature – 35 Laps – 15 Cars

1. #47 Keith Zavrel – 1st Season Win

2. #09 Scott Grossenbacher

3. #98 Herb Neumann Jr.

4. # 3 Daniel Webster

5. #17 Mike Bell

1st Heat Winner - #17 Mike Bell

2nd Heat Winner - #121 Jim Smith

Sportsman Feature – 20 Laps – 12 Cars

1. #94 Mike Veltman – 3 Season Win

2. #71 Fred Tuski

3. #97 Phillip Rook

4. #14 D.J. Macklin

5. # 7 Clint Foley

1st Heat Winner - #94 Mike Veltman

2nd Heat Winner - #42 Richie Smith

Street Stock Feature – 20 Laps – 22 Cars

1. #142 Richie Smith – 7th Season Win

2. # 3 Curtis Flanagan

3. # 9 Artie Hewitt

4. #93 Tim Wilson

5. #63 Tim Alexander

1st Heat Winner - # 4 Jay Witfoth

2nd Heat Winner - #63 Tim Alexander

3rd Heat Winner - #99 Jason VanOchten

Mini Stock Feature – 30 Laps – 11 Cars

1. #32 Brandon McSwain

2. #105 Rick Sirmans

3. #29 Mark Powers

4. # 1 George Neumann

5. #95 Ron Armillei

6. # 2 Don Faunce

7. #20 Travis Hoefler

8. #68 Mike Birk Jr.

9. #13 Johnathan Camp

10.#23 Jesse Henley

Pure Stock Feature – 20 Laps – 15 Cars

1. #61 Ricky Henick – 2nd Season Win

2. #33 Bill Ryan

3. #36 Mike Dubbs

4. #88 Louie Cioe

5. # 0 Steve Stinedurf

1st Heat Winner - #33 Billy Ryan

2nd Heat Winner - #44 Glen Colyer

4 Cylinder Bomber Feature – 20 Laps – 21 Cars

1. # 5 Jon Doucette – 2nd Season Win

2. #20 Travis Hoefler

3. #88 Anthony LaPoint

4. #00 Chris Harvey

5. #21 Phil Edwards

1st Heat Winner - #88 Anthony LaPoint

2nd Heat Winner - #122 John De George

3rd Heat Winner – 32 Jeremy Sharrone

V8 Thunder Stock Rookies – 20 Laps – 14 Cars

1. #139 John Drye – 3 Season Feature

2. #34 Chad Markland

3. #73 Jeff Eisenhower

4. #10 Eddie Rosasco

5. #71 Chris Franklin

[Return to Top]