[Home]     [Race Results]


Larry MacMillan – P.R.
January 21, 2007

Anderson and Grossenbacher Share Citrus L.M. Twin 50 Wins

(Inverness, Fl. 1/20/07) Citrus County Speedway kicked off the 2007 "Winter Spectacular V" with cool weather and 200 laps of hot racing featuring the Super Late Models, Street Stocks (formerly Hobby Stocks) and the 4 Cylinder Bombers. Seventy four race cars helped open up the 52nd racing season at the 3/8ths mile venue and it turned out to be a full night of racing action and a preview of what’s to come on February 3rd when the season officially opens.

Wayne Anderson came to his home track where he grew up and proved to be the man to beat when he set the fast qualifying time over the 25 car field of hot shoes picking up the $100 bonus. He pulled the number 10 pill putting Daniel Keene on the pole and Donnie Parkinson in the outside lane and Anderson lined up on the outside of row 5. Keene took the early lead with Parkinson in hot pursuit followed by Scott Grossenbacher Sean LeMaster and Daniel Webster. Several cautions came out for lengthily cleanups eating up the clock in the pursuit of the $1,500 win purse mostly from leaking fluids and Daniel Webster scattering two brake calipers and brake fluid all over the track ending his night in the first race. Anderson worked the outside lane and set the pace during the first half of the race right to the checkered flag and picked up the "Hard Charger Award" to add to his win purse. Herb Neumann, Gary Grubbs, Rich Pratt, Sean LeMaster, Scott Grossenbacher, Perry Lovelady, Kurt Jett, Keith Zavrel and Brandon Anderson rounded out the top ten when the checkers flew after 40 laps due to time consumption. Twenty cars were still running.

After a 15 minute infield readjustment period 23 cars again took the green for the second half of the twin 50’s for another $1,500 to win plus a full purse. Perry Lovelady came off the pole to lead the pack for the first half of the race before Scott Grossenbacher put the pressure on and made the pass setting the pace right to the checkered flag. Again several lengthily cleanup cautions ate up the clock and the curfew shortened the second race to another 40 laps. Rich Pratt had a great ride and held out for a second place finish over Perry Lovelady. James Powell started 19th and finished 4th picking up the "Hard Charger Award" in race #2. Rounding out the top 10 were Keith Zavrel, Herb Neumann Jr., Kurt Jett, Darrell Shelnut, Sean LeMaster, and Donnie Parkinson. Wayne Anderson was coming on strong about half way through the race but his race car went south and he had to settle for a 17th place finish in the second race.

Street Stocks showed up 30 strong and Curtis Flanagan was first on the clocks winning the fast qualifier bonus. He pulled the 8 pill for their 50 lap race that put Krystal Batson on the pole for her first race after taking a season hiatus to have her baby. She set the pace for quite a few laps before a three car crash in turn three took out her dad Doc Batson and Curtis Flanagan ending their night early. On the restart Krystal again set the pace with some heavy hitters putting the heat on and finally gave up the lead to Richie Smith who went on to win the race. Krystal fell back to fifth place but when the checkers came out she had worked her way back up to finish second in her first night back on the racing scene. Steve Anderson stayed in the top five for the entire 50 laps and held out for third followed by John Rankin, Mike Stalnaker, Herb Hoefler, Mike Loudy, Dean Lawyer, Tim Alexander and John Zuidema.

Wrapping up the show despite being the first division to race, the 4 Cylinder Bombers had 19 cars qualify for their 50 lap Winter Spectacular Special and saw Donnie Guy dominate the clock. Tech inspection took away his fast qualifier bonus and gave it to defending champion Justin Durbin. When the green fell Joey Durbin launched his racer to the lead around Phil Edwards and held on until his brother Justin went to the front and set the pace. Donnie Guy caught him in a non stop 50 lap race and before Donnie was through he had lapped everyone except Justin Durbin. Donnie lost again in tech for illegal parts and 2006 champion and 14 time winner Justin Durbin took home another win. Joey Durbin was second followed by Anthony LaPoint, Jon Doucette and John DeGeorge to round out the top five.

Citrus County Speedway will kick off the 2007 racing season on Saturday night February 3rd featuring the Open Wheel Modified, Sportsman, Mini Stock, Street Stock, Pure Stock, V8 Thunder Stock, 4 Cylinder Bombers and the Figure 8 divisions. TBARA Winged Sprint Cars will kick off their season at Citrus on February 10th plus a full racing program.





Citrus County Speedway Results 1/20/07

Winter Spectacular V Late Model Twin 50

Race #1 – 40 Laps – 24 Cars

1. #84 Wayne Anderson – Fast Qualifier & Hard Charger Award

2. #98 Herb Neumann Jr.

3. #10 Gary Grubbs

4. # 0 Rich Pratt

5. # 8 Sean LeMaster

6. #09 Scott Grossenbacher

7. # 7 Perry Lovelady

8. #19 Kurt Jett

9. #47 Keith Zavrel

10.#21 Brandon Anderson

Race #2 – 40 Laps – 24 Cars

1. #09 Scott Grossenbacher

2. #0 Rich Pratt

3. # 7 Perry Lovelady

4. #77 James Powell III – Hard Charger Award

5. #47 Keith Zavrel

6. #98 Herb Neumann

7. #19 Kurt Jett

8. #71 Darrell Shelnut

9. # 8 Sean LeMaster

10.#24p Donnie Parkinson

Winter Spectacular Street Stock 50 – 30 Cars

1. #42 Richie Smith

2. # 7 Krystal Batson

3. # 9 Steve Anderson

4. #10 John Rankin

5. # 8 Mike Stalnaker

6. #22 Herb Hoefler

7. #21 Mike Loudy

8. #91 Dean Lawyer

9. #63 Tim Alexander

10.#47 Johnny Zuidema

Curtis Flanagan – Fast Qualifier – DNF in Feature

Winter Spectacular V 4 Cylinder Bomber 50 – 19 Cars

1. #12 Justin Durbin – Fast Qualifier

2. #055 Joey Durbin

3. #88 Anthony LaPoint

4. # 5 Jon Doucette

5. #122 John DeGeorge

6. #72 Terry Dunbar

7. #98 Kevin Stone

8. #21 Phil Edwards

9. #22 Bobby Richardson

10.#99 Jesse Mullis



[Return to Top]